Patagonia Argentina

Patagonia Argentina

Patagonia is situated in the south of the Colorado River in Argentina, South America. It is a plateau with an area of more than 770,000 sq km, and includes five provinces: Neuquén, Río Negro, Chubut, Santa Cruz and Tierra del Fuego.

The name “Patagonia” comes from the word “patagones”, coined for the first time in 1520 by the Portuguese sailor Hernando de Magallanes to identify the local natives.
This stunning beautiful extensive region offers a variety of natural unique scenarios: The Cordillera de los Andes’ large mountainous mass and its immense plateau, covered with the typical steppe’s vegetation, spotted with lakes, rivers, mountains, local forests and spectacular millenaries glaciers.
The thawing of these giant glaciers formed two large lakes: Lago Argentino and Lago Viedma, which pour their waters onto the Atlantic Ocean, and run along Santa Cruz Province, creating the serpent-like Santa Cruz river.

Los Glaciares National Park
Created in 1937 and declared World Heritage by UNESCO in 1981, National Park Los Glaciares extends over almost 700,000 hectares of mountains, lakes and forests, including a large section of the Andes, almost covered with ice and snow on the west, and bordered by the Patagonian steppe on the east.

As a result of the thawing of this giant ice mass, two large lakes have been formed: Lago Argentino and Lago Viedma, which pour their waters onto the Atlantic Ocean, and which run along the province of Santa Cruz, creating the serpent-like Río Santa Cruz. There are more than 300 glaciers inside the Park, of which only 13 are well known, being the famous Perito Moreno, the Viedma (the largest of Argentina) and the Upsala (the second in size) the most outstanding glaciers of the park.